Film festival DCP requirements: what 11 of the top festivals say

You got in, and the festival wants a DCP. Here is what 11 festivals say about it in their own words, and the quickest way to have yours.

What 11 festivals say about DCPs

Each row was read on the festival's own page or its official FilmFreeway listing on 24 October 2026. Rules change every edition, so check your own festival's page for your edition.

FestivalEditionDCP ruleWhat it saysSource
Sundance 2027 Required for in-person screenings. ProRes also if online "All participating projects are required to provide DCP for in-person screenings." Sundance, What to Expect (PDF)
Clermont-Ferrand 2027 Required, unencrypted "Compulsory screening format (if your film is selected): DCP." Clermont-Ferrand, international rules 2027 (PDF)
Hot Docs 2027 (April 23 to May 2) Required "If your film is selected for the festival, we will require a DCP of the film." Hot Docs, film submissions FAQ
Aspen Shortsfest 2027 (April 6 to 10) DCP only "Aspen Shortsfest is a DCP-only festival." FilmFreeway, Aspen Shortsfest
Palm Springs ShortFest 2027 (June 22 to 28) Required "If selected, shorts must be available for projection in DCP." FilmFreeway, Palm Springs International ShortFest
Screamfest Current listing DCP only "Acceptable screening formats are: DCP only." FilmFreeway, Screamfest Horror Film Festival
Austin Film Festival 2026 (Oct 29 to Nov 5) Digital files. No DCP "AFF screens films and series as digital files during the Festival and does NOT screen on Blu-Ray, HD-CAM, or DCP." FilmFreeway, Austin Film Festival
VIFF 2026 (45th) Features on DCP. Shorts not stated "Accepted feature films can be exhibited theatrically on DCP." FilmFreeway, VIFF
TIFF 2026 Exhibition format not stated in the submissions FAQ "DCPs will only be accepted by invitation from TIFF's programming team" (about screeners) TIFF, submissions FAQ (PDF)
Fantasia 2027 (July 15 to Aug 1) Not stated "the exhibition print/video copy of your film" FilmFreeway, Fantasia International Film Festival
Regard (Saguenay) 31st Not stated on the call page No format stated Regard, call for films, 31st edition

What the table tells you

The shortcut

You can make a DCP free with DCP-o-matic, which is harder, or through a post-production house, which is expensive. Or you can have shortfilmdcp.com make it.

A DCP for your short film starting at $10 delivered in 24 hours or less. Every package is tested before your link is sent.

Does my film festival need a DCP?

Of the 11 festivals we read, six require a DCP for shorts, including Sundance, Clermont-Ferrand, Hot Docs, Aspen Shortsfest, Palm Springs ShortFest and Screamfest. Austin Film Festival screens digital files and does not screen DCP. TIFF, Fantasia and Regard state no exhibition format on the pages we read, so your acceptance information is where yours appears.

Do I need a DCP for Sundance?

Yes for in-person screenings. Sundance 2027 says: "All participating projects are required to provide DCP for in-person screenings." The shorts print delivery deadline for DCP and ProRes is Monday, December 21, 2026.

When is the DCP due?

It varies by festival. Clermont-Ferrand 2027 asks for the DCP by FTP by 17 December 2026, and Sundance 2027 shorts by 21 December 2026. Most festivals publish the date once you're selected.

How do I get a DCP for a film festival?

There are three routes: free with DCP-o-matic, from $10 with shortfilmdcp.com in 24 hours or less, or through a post-production house. Choose your file on the shortfilmdcp.com home page and you see your price before you pay.